I do believe I have officially entered cycle #3 of my life with depression. And here I was, hoping that it would skip a generation, skip a decade, skip a beat. For the time being, it seems like my depression hits about every 2 years. It generally hits every late summer/early fall, and varies in intensity and functional level.
Cycle #1 (Fall 2006):
Freshman year of college. I thought that was the cause so I did nothing. I handled it relatively well, I think. No medication. No failed classes. Success?
Cycle #2 (Summer/Fall 2008-Winter 2009):
Sonofabitch, worst time of my life. It got so bad I stayed in my dorm for days on end, oscillating between sleeping for 20 hours a night and not sleeping at all. Failed an entire semester of classes. Spent 9 months taking Celexa and different levels of Welbutrin, along with meds to help me put weight back on.
Cycle #3 (Right Now):
Trying to self medicate with exercise - hey, it works for my brother. We'll see how it goes. I have one song on repeat and don't feel like doing anything but sleep. I've been a little late to work every day for the last 2+ weeks but my boss hasn't said anything. Polls open bright and early tomorrow and I'm only a little excited - definitely not a good sign. I should be absolutely stoked to go vote, per usual.
I think I'm going to try and blog the shit out of this sucker.
Ugh.
No comments:
Post a Comment